2020 – The Great Reset: Embedding Resilience into African Agriculture

Virtual Event, co-hosted by Centre for Agricultural Research and Development (CARD) of the Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR) and Malawi Agriculture Policy Advancement and Transformation Agenda (MwAPATA)

November 18-20, 2019

DAY 1: 18 November 2020

Opening Remarks and Welcome

  • Dr. Miltone Ayieko, Executive Director: Tegemeo Institute of Agricultural Policy and Development, Egerton University, Kenya (ReNAPRI)
  • Professor George Kanyama-Phiri, Vice-Chancellor, Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR), Malawi
  • Dr. Apollos Nwafor, Vice-president, AGRA
  • Ms. Maura Barry Boyle, Senior Deputy Assistant Administrator, Bureau for Resilience and Food Security, USAID
  • Ms. Chileshe Kapwepwe, Secretary General, COMESA
  • Hon. Josefa Sacko, Commissioner, AUC-DREA
  • Hon. Lobin Lowe, MP, Minister of Agriculture, Malawi

Reflection: Impact of Policy Responses to the COVID-19 Pandemic on Food Systems: what we know and don’t know


  • Dr. Nalishebo Meebelo, Senior Program Coordinator, ReNAPRI & Co-Chair AGRA Task Force
  • Dr. Antoine Bouët, Senior Research Fellow, IFPRI & Co-Chair AGRA Task Force


  • Dr. Andrew Agyei-Holmes, Research Director, ISSER, Ghana (ReNAPRI)
  • Dr. Ayala Wineman, Post-Doctoral Research Associate, Evans School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Washington
  • Dr. John Olwande, Research Director, Tegemeo, Kenya (ReNAPRI)
  • Dr. Tinashe Kapuya, Research Director, BFAP, South Africa (ReNAPRI)


  • Poorva Pandya, CEO, Export Trading Group (ETG)
  • Joel Okwir, Agriculture Economist, COMESA
  • Daniel Njiwa, Head of Regional Food Trade at AGRA
  • Dr. Medhat El-Helepi, Agriculture and Business Enabling Environment, Private Sector Development and Finance Division, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
  • Marcella McClatchey, Program Officer, BMGF
  • Watipaso Mkandawire, Regional Food Markets Adviser at the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO), DfID

Reimagine: Elephants, gazelles and survival entrepreneurs: Promoting dynamic transformation in African Agricultural Value Chains

Moderator: William Chadza, Acting Executive Director, MwAPATA



  • Dr. Louise Fox, Nonresident Senior Fellow – Global Economy and Development, Africa Growth Initiative, Brookings Institute
  • Alvaro Valverde, Relationship Manager, CASA
  • Dr. Martin Fregene, Director, Department of Agriculture and Agro-industry, African Development Bank
  • Dr. Edward Mabaya, Senior Research Associate, Department of Global Development, Cornell University

DAY 2: 19 November 2020

Reimagine: Building Resilient Value-Chains for inclusive agricultural transformation

Moderator: Ferdi Meyer, Bureau of Food and Agricultural Policy (BFAP), South Africa (ReNAPRI)


  • Lilian Kirimi, Research Director, Tegemeo Institute, Kenya (ReNAPRI)
  • Zena Mpenda, Research Director, Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA), Tanzania (ReNAPRI)
  • Tracy Davids, Manager, Markets Division, Bureau of Food and Agricultural Policy (BFAP), South Africa (ReNAPRI)


  • Antony M’barine, Policy and Strategy Office, Executive Office of the President, Kenya
  • John Macharia, Country Manager-Kenya, AGRA
  • Dr. Emanuele Ferrari, Research Officer, European Commission, Joint Research Center (JRC)

Reset: AfCFTA – a journey to self-reliance in an age of uncertainty

Moderator: Dr. Antony Chapoto, Research Director, IAPRI (ReNAPRI)


  • Lulama Ndibongo Traub, Research Director, BFAP, South Africa (ReNAPRI)
  • Orcidia Chiziane, Research Director, CEPPAG, Mozambique (ReNAPRI)
  • Dr. Emmanuel Mwakiwa, Research Director, University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe (ReNAPRI)
  • Prof. Isaac Kanyama, Research Director, IRES, DRC (ReNAPRI)


  • Gerald Masila, CEO, East African Grain Council (EAGC)
  • Wandile Sihlobo, Chief Economist, AgBiz Chambers
  • Dr. John Mukuka, CEO, ACTESA-COMESA
  • Albert Halwampa, Manager for Export Development, Zambia Development Agency
  • Dr. Holger Matthey, Economist, Trade and Markets Division, Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) of the United Nations (UN)

Reflect: Road to Abuja II: next steps

Moderator:  Richard Mkandawire, AAP-MSU, United States of America


  • Prof. Rattan Lal, 2020 World Food Prize Laureate


  • Elizabeth Nsimadala, President, Pan African Farmers’ Organization (PAFO)
  • Prof. Pedro Sanchez, 2002 World Food Prize Laureate
  • Rob Groot, Director of Business Development and Strategic Partnerships, IFDC
  • Dr. Hambulo Ngoma, Research Fellow, IAPRI (ReNAPRI)

Recap, Way Forward, & Closing Remarks

  • Dr. Thabbie Chilongo, Director: Center for Agricultural Research & Development (CARD), LUANAR
  • Miltone Ayieko, Chairman: Regional Network of Agricultural Policy Research Institutes (ReNAPRI)
    Director: Tegemeo Institute

Eastern Africa Grain Council (EAGC) Side-event


  • Dr. Holger Matthey, FAO
  • Prof. Ferdi Meyer,
  • Kim Mhando, EAGC


  • Jacob Mwale, Executive Director, ZAMACE
  • Yusuf Pasta – Director, RoadTainers Ltd
  • Protase Echessah – Senior Program Officer, Regional Food Trade Resilience, AGRA

Policy, Research, Capacity & Influence (PRCI) Side-event


Follow us on twitter