ReNAPRI to Implement selected CAADP XP4 Programme Activities in the Southern Africa Region

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In its efforts to build and strengthen partnerships towards achieving its goals in the African continent, the Regional Network of Agricultural Policy Research Institutes (ReNAPRI) signed an MoU with the Center for Coordination of Agricultural Research and Development for Southern Africa (CCARDESA) on the 19th of October 2020.  Dr. Miltone Ayieko, Chair of the ReNAPRI Board of Directors signed the MoU on behalf of ReNAPRI, and his counterpart, Dr. Cliff Dlamini, CCARDESA Executive Director, represented his institution, accordingly.

CCARDESA is implementing the CAADP XP4 programme in the southern Africa region. The CAADP XP4 Programme is funded by the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) to support National Agricultural Knowledge and Innovative Systems (NAKIS) in African countries and the rural poor. CAADP XP4 countries in Southern Africa are: Botswana, Eswatini, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

As part of the operationalization of the MOU, CCARDESA has engaged ReNAPRI to implement some of CAADP-XP4 programme activities in Southern Africa. Activities to be implemented by ReNAPRI include the following:

  1. Stocktaking at country level – of all in-country policies that affect cross-border trade on agricultural inputs and outputs;
  2. Agricultural Innovation System-Policy Practice Index (AIS-PPI) Training; and
  3. A study to assess national policies that affect cross border trade in agricultural inputs and commodities using the Policy Practice Index tool.

In preparation for this assignment, ReNAPRI experts have since been trained in the use of the Agricultural Innovation System-Policy Practice Index (AIS-PPI) tool by the Forum for Agricultural Research In Africa (FARA). The AIS-PPI tool will hereafter, be adapted in the Southern Africa region through this intervention by ReNAPRI.

The ReNAPRI lead team spearheading this assignment includes – Dr. Emmanuel Mwakiwa, Dr. Shephard Siziba, Dr. Jackson Langat, Lulama Traub, Dr. Nalishebo Meebelo and Alphonse Akouyu. The team will work closely with CCARDESA, CAADP XP4 Country Policy Teams and related ReNAPRI experts in executing this assignment.